Maariful Quran : A Comprehensive Commentary of the Holy Qur’an : English : Complete 8 Volume Set (Maulana Mufti Muhammad Shafi)

Maariful Quran

Maariful Quran (Urdu: معارف القرآن‎) is an eight-volume tafsir (exegesis) of the Quran written by Pakistani Islamic scholar Mufti Muhammad Shafi (1897–1976).

The work consists of eight volumes. A detailed introduction, included at the beginning of the first volume, focuses on some of the basic issues of the Quran.

Quran learning
Maariful Quran : Tafseer of the Holy Quran in English 6

Notable among them are the wahy, the modes of descent, the chronology of the revelation of the Quran, the first revealed verses (ayah), Meccan and Medinan verses, the preservation of the Quran, the printing of the Quran, the sources of tafsir, Arabic language etc. The work adopts a simple narrative style: first, several verses are provided in the original Arabic with their literal translation in Urdu; it is then followed by subject-wise discussion on almost every important issue. This narrative technique is repeated until the end. Below is the list of volumes and their contents:

The first volume—Sura Al-Fatiha and sura Al-Baqara
The second volume – from sura Al-Imran to sura An-Nisa
The third volume – from sura Al-Ma’ida to sura Al-A’raf
The fourth volume – from sura Al-Anfal to sura Hud
The fifth volume – from sura Yusuf to sura Al-Kahf
The sixth volume – from sura Maryam to sura Ar-Rum
The seventh volume – from sura Luqman to sura Al-Ahqaf
The eighth volume – from sura Muhammad to Surat al-Nas.