Gates of Jahannam


The Seven Gates of Jahannam

In the Quran, Jahannam is described as having seven gates, and within each gate, there is a specific punishment awaiting its inhabitants. This is mentioned in Surah Hijr (15:44), where it is stated: “Indeed the hellfire is the dwelling place of them all. It has seven gates, and within each gate, there is an appropriate punishment for each inhabitant.” This vivid description serves as a stern reminder of the consequences of one’s actions and the accountability in the afterlife.

image 43
The 7 Gates of Jahannam 8

Imam Ahmad, Ibn Jarir and baihaqi say that the seven gates of Jahannam (Hell) are in terms of seven levels, one upon the other. Some others have taken these as common gates where every gate will be reserved for a special kind of
sinners. (Qurtubi)

Quran ad
The 7 Gates of Jahannam 9
The 7 Gates of Jahannam
The 7 Gates of Jahannam 10

The Seven Gates of Jahannam

  1. Jaheem
  2. Jahannam
  3. Sa’ir
  4. Ladha
  5. Hawiyah
  6. Hutama
  7. Munafiqeen [hypocrites]
  1. First Level (Jahannam for Sinful Muslims): This level is for sinful Muslims and has the least heat and comparatively less painful punishments. Sinners’ faces are burned, and their flesh is consumed by fire, which is continuously renewed by Allah.
  2. Second Level (Ladah): Below the first level, Ladah is for non-believers who rejected Allah’s message. Punishment includes the gradual destruction of external and internal organs by fire.
  3. Third Level (Saqar): Located below Ladah, it punishes people who did not pray, neglected the poor, engaged in vain talk, or denied the Day of Judgment. Fire burns their flesh but not their bones.
  4. Fourth Level (Al-Hutamah): Below Saqar, this level burns sinners to their bones, scorching their heart and inner organs. Tears dry out, and unimaginable pain ensues.
  5. Fifth Level (Jaheem): Sinners who rejected Allah, mistreated His creations, and did not help the poor are thrown into this level. Jaheem is a large, coal-like structure, and its punishments are severe.
  6. Sixth Level (Saeer): Located below Jaheem, this level is divided into numerous sections, each with different types of agonizing penalties. It contains scorpions, snakes, chains, and a pit of extreme agony.
  7. Seventh Level (Al-Hawwiyah): The lowest and worst level of Jahannam, situated below Saeer, is a place of absolute darkness. Backbiters and non-believers face severe punishment, including being crushed under mountains, having their limbs bound, and enduring brutal beatings by angels. (ref)

The Intense Heat of Jahannam

The Quranic verses emphasize the unbearable heat of Jahannam. In Surah At-Tawbah (9:81), it is revealed that the fire of Jahannam is even hotter than the heat of battle, serving as a stark contrast to the reluctance of the hypocrites to join war during extreme heat. This heat is used as a metaphor to underline the intensity of the punishment that awaits those who oppose the truth and engage in sinful actions.

The Ladha: A Fierce Blaze

image 48
The 7 Gates of Jahannam 11

The Quran also introduces the concept of the Ladha, a fierce blaze that scalds both the inward organs and outward flesh of those in Jahannam, as described in Surah Ma’arij (70:15).

Al Hutamah: The Crushing Fire

In Surah Humazah (104:4-9), the Quran speaks of Al Hutamah, the crushing fire. It is described as the fire of Allah, kindled by men and stones, which scorches the hearts of the wrongdoers. This vivid description symbolizes the severity of the consequences for those who indulge in wickedness and reject the guidance of Allah.

 The Fire of Allah will not be blind like the fire of the world, which burns up the deserving and the non-deserving alike, but it will reach the heart of every culprit and discover the nature of his crime and then punish him according to his guilt.After the culprits have been thrown into it, Hell will be closed in upon them without leaving any slit or opening anywhere, in order to choke and suffocate them.

May Allah save us from Hell. Ameen

Follow us in Facebook

Categorized in:

New Muslims,